Another Night

Another night in the Allen reading room! Also known as the quiet room, where Whitman students go to spend time doing homework in a completely silent environment. Admittedly I’m typing this blog alone with “You Don’t Know Me” by Ben Folds playing at full volume on my laptop. In the reading room next to a mantle place and an open gas lit fireplace there is a small book titled “The Allen Reading Room Challenge”. When you are the last person in the reading room on a given night you put your name and the professor and assignment responsible for your late hour in the library. I am currently the Valentines day victor of this challenge at a current time of 3:39 AM Feb 14th. The time varies however and the last contender could be pulling an all nighter. Generally the winner is within an hour of 4AM. This is my 3rd time winning the challenge, something I feel reluctant to be proud of. But the good news is that I have all my homework for tomorrow long since finished and am currently working on the first draft and outline of two essays due later this week. Well you know it is about time for me to continue working on my homework when I catch myself singing along to “Wat Da Hook Gon Be”

Good night, or should I say good morning?

One hour later…

You feel strangely accomplished, and know you shouldn’t, listening to Bach’s Prelude Number 3 in C major while reading Machiavelli, Hobbes and Martin Luther at 4:30 in the morning.

 

About Fernando Medina Corey

Student, small business owner, and stage combat enthusiast
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

